### **Class A Introductory Course in Driver Education**

(Class C Vehicles)

Requirements to provide the introductory course in driver education instruction to applicants for a Class A driver education instructor license. A licensed Class A driver education instructor may be authorized by the Secretary of State to provide the introductory course in driver education for Class A driver education instructor license applicants required by Chapter 9 Rules Governing Driver Education §4, subsection 3 (A).

- A. **Requirements**. A person seeking authorization under subsection 8 must meet the following requirements:
  - (1) The person must hold a bachelor's degree, have held a valid Class A driver education instructor license for the preceding three years, and taught at least five complete driver education courses; or
  - (2) The person must have held a valid Class A driver education instructor license for the preceding five years, and taught at least ten complete driver education courses; and
  - (3) The person must not have violated any statute or rule governing driver education or any condition or restriction placed on any license issued pursuant to these rules for which administrative or other enforcement action was taken within the last five years; and
  - (4) The person must complete an instructor preparation program as approved by the Secretary of State.

Rev. 1/2018

#### **Course Curriculum**

## Minimum 45 hours for each "Part" to include 5 hours behind-the-wheel instruction Total course= 90 hours

The introductory course in driver education for Class A driver education instructor license applicants must be based on the approved curriculum standards; include components in harassment prevention; and teaching students with special needs; and provide a minimum of 90 hours of instruction which includes five hours of behind-thewheel training. The curriculum must be submitted to the Secretary of State, BMV-Driver Education unit, for review and approval.

A course instructor must provide the Secretary of State, BMV-Driver Education unit, in writing, notification of a driver education instructor course at least 10 days prior to the start of the course.

Any instructor authorized under this section must allow any interested person to enroll in a course to meet licensing requirements. The authorized instructor may assess a fee equal to the current tuition for a three credit course through the University of Southern Maine.

#### Required textbooks:

Responsible Driving, How to Drive or Drive Right Textbook Maine Motorist Handbook & Study Guide Title 29A Maine Motor Vehicle Statutes Chapter 9 Rules Governing Driver Education BMV Driver Education related forms

#### Course content:

Over view of Maine laws, rules and regulations
Basic driving technique
Creation of lesson plans
Peer teaching
Drug and alcohol awareness
English as a second language
General automobile insurance
Insurance for driving schools
Vehicle technology
Harassment prevention; to include sexual harassment prevention
In vehicle training and peer teaching (minimum of 5 hours)

#### Teaching methodologies:

Lecture Group work Audio-visual Speakers Peer teaching Role playing

## **Class A Instructor Candidate Skills Report**

Instructor Candidate:	Date of Birth:		
Candidate's School Affiliation:			
Class A Instructor:	Date:		

# All sixteen mandatory subjects <u>must</u> be covered plus <u>at least</u> four optional subjects.

Subj	subjects.						
No.	Maneuver	Mand./Optional	Sat.	Unsat.			
1	Outside Checks, Entering the Car Safely	Mandatory					
2	Inside Checks (Vehicle Orientation)	Mandatory					
3	Starting the Engine	Mandatory					
4	Braking	Mandatory					
5	Tracking in a Straight Line, Tracking on Turns	Mandatory					
6	Hand-Over-Hand Steering/Push-Pull Steering	Mandatory					
7	Steering from/to the Curb	Mandatory					
8	Leaving the Car Safely	Mandatory					
9	Changing Lanes	Mandatory					
10	Right Turn	Mandatory					
11	Left Turn	Mandatory					
12	Tracking to the Rear	Mandatory					
13	Parallel Parking	Mandatory					
14	Starting on an Uphill Grade (Hill Stop)	Mandatory					
15	Managing Power and Speed	Mandatory					
16	Managing Visibility, Time and Space in Various Environments	Mandatory					
17	Two-Point Turn, Backing Into a Driveway	Optional					
18	Two-Point Turn, Heading Into a Driveway	Optional					
19	U-Turn	Optional					
20	Three-Point Turn	Optional					
21	Angle Parking	Optional					
22	Perpendicular Parking	Optional					
23	Expressway Entry	Optional					
24	Expressway Exit	Optional					
25	Passing	Optional					
26	Starting the Engine, Manual Shift	Optional					
27	Putting a Car with Manual Shift in Motion	Optional					
28	Shifting to a Higher Gear	Optional					
29	Downshifting	Optional					
30	Stopping from Low Gear	Optional					
31	Emergency Downshifting	Optional					
32	Parking Downgrade	Optional					
33	Shared Turning Lane	Optional					

Rev. 1/2018

34	Rotary	Optional	
35	RR Crossing	Optional	

#### **Comments:**

Rev. 1/2018